How Many States Were There In 1866 (Exploring The United State)

Everyone want know that how many states were there in 1866? The political geography of the United States has changed dramatically over its history, and the number of countries that make up the nation is no exception.

In 1866, the country was in significant metamorphosis, recovering from the Civil War and scuffling with Reconstruction and civil rights issues. Against this background, there were 36 countries in the Union.

Understanding how numerous countries there were in 1866 is essential to understanding the country’s political history and past changes. In this composition, we will explore the number of countries in 1866 and why it’s important to understand this critical literal fact.

Overview About How Many States Were There In 1866

Historical context

In 1866, the United States was dealing with the fate of the Civil War, which had ended just the former time. The country was divided, and the South was in the process of being rebuilt.

Abraham Lincoln was assassinated, and Andrew Johnson served as the President of the United States. The country was scuffling with issues related to Reconstruction, civil rights, and the treatment of recently freed slaves.

Related Article: Where Does The Mayor of NYC Live

Political situation

During this time, there were 36 states in the Union. The country was led by the federal government, which was working to rebuild the South and restore order following the bouleversement of the Civil War.

The government was also working to extend civil rights to African Americans, although this process was fraught with difficulties and lapses.

Overall, the political situation in the United States in 1866 was one of transition and transformation as the country worked to move forward from the desolation of the Civil War.

Number of states in 1866

  • List of states

There were 36 states in the Union in 1866. As follows:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. California
  4. Connecticut
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Illinois
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine
  15. Maryland
  16. Massachusetts
  17. Michigan
  18. Minnesota
  19. Mississippi
  20. Missouri
  21. Nebraska
  22. Nevada
  23. New Hampshire
  24. New Jersey
  25. New York
  26. North Carolina
  27. Ohio
  28. Oregon
  29. Pennsylvania
  30. Rhode Island
  31. South Carolina
  32. Tennessee
  33. Texas
  34. Vermont
  35. Virginia
  36. West Virginia
  • When Compared To The Current State Count

From the 36 states that existed in 1866, a tremendous rise. The extra states consist of

  1. Alaska
  2. Hawaii
  3. Arizona
  4. New Mexico
  5. Oklahoma
  6. Utah
  7. Colorado
  8. Wyoming
  9. Idaho
  10. Montana
  11. Washington
  12. North Dakota
  13. South Dakota
  14. Nebraska
  15. Kansas
  16. Minnesota
  17. Iowa
  18. Missouri
  19. Arkansas
  20. Louisiana
  21. Wisconsin
  22. Illinois
  23. Mississippi
  24. Michigan
  25. Indiana
  26. Kentucky
  27. Tennessee
  28. Alabama
  29. Georgia
  30. Florida
  31. South Carolina
  32. North Carolina
  33. Virginia
  34. Maryland
  35. Delaware
  36. New Jersey
  37. New York
  38. Connecticut
  39. Rhode Island
  40. Massachusetts
  41. Vermont
  42. New Hampshire
  43. Maine
  44. California
  45. Nevada
  46. Oregon
  47. Washington D.C.

To understanding the elaboration of the American political scene, it’s pivotal to understand how the number of countries has varied through time.

Changes to The Number of States Since 1866

  • New states added

Since 1866, the United States has added a total of 14 states. They are:

  1. Nebraska (1867)
  2. Colorado (1876)
  3. North Dakota (1889)
  4. South Dakota (1889)
  5. Montana (1889)
  6. Washington (1889)
  7. Idaho (1890)
  8. Wyoming (1890)
  9. Utah (1896)
  10. Oklahoma (1907)
  11. New Mexico (1912)
  12. Arizona (1912)
  13. Alaska (1959)
  14. Hawaii (1959)
  • States That Were Lost Or Merged

Throughout its history, the United States has also lost or merged several states.

For example:

The State of Franklin was briefly formed in 1784, but it was never recognized by the federal government.
The Republic of Texas was an independent country from 1836 to 1845 before it was adjoined by the United States as the State of Texas.

The Territory of Hawaii was adjoined by the United States in 1898 and became a state in 1959. The Territory of Alaska was bought by the United States from Russia in 1867 and became a state in 1959.

The State of West Virginia was created in 1863 during the Civil War, when the western counties of Virginia broke down to form a new state. Understanding the changes to the number of states since 1866 is pivotal in comprehending the evolution of the political geography of the United States.


In conclusion, I hope that you understand how many states were there in 1866. The United States was composed of 36 states in 1866, during a time of significant change and bouleversement.

The country was recovering from the Civil War, and was dealing with issues of Reconstruction, civil rights, and the rebuilding of the South. Understanding how many states there were in 1866 is important in furnishing environment for the country’s political history and how it has evolved over time.

Since also, the United States has added many new states, and some countries have been lost or intermingled. The political map of the country is constantly changing, and it’s essential to continue to learn about these changes and their literal significance.

Eventually, an understanding of the number of states in 1866 helps to exfoliate light on the country’s history and provides insight into how it has become the nation it’s moment.


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: